top of page
Writer's pictureTeen Cuisine

Dad’s Famous Chicken Rice

Hey everyone! Today I thought I’d share my Dad’s famous chicken rice. I figured there would be no better name to give it other than 'Dad’s Famous Chicken Rice' because it’s his signature dish!😁 This recipe is so simple but so yummy and delicious. I guarantee the whole family will love it!


This dish is very special to me as it reminds me of the special memories I have with my family on our camping trips. My dad always makes it in his special black pot on the campfire, and it never fails to impress!



Serving size: 6-8 people


Ingredients

125g Bacon

3 tbsp Olive Oil

1 Onion; diced

2 cloves Garlic; minced

1kg Chicken Pieces

800 mℓ Water

2 cups Rice (although I use 1 cup of rice in the video, 2 cups is a better ratio to the amount of chicken used for this recipe).

250g Mushrooms

Salt to taste


Steps

Start by frying bacon, do not add oil.

Remove the bacon and add olive oil.

Fry onion 3-4 minutes and add garlic.

Add chicken pieces and allow them to brown.

Add 100mℓ water and cover 2-3 minutes. Repeat this step 3 times.

Add salt and bacon.

Add rice and fry 2-3 minutes.

Add 500mℓ water and cook rice.

Add mushrooms until cooked, 5-7 minutes.

Serve and enjoy!


If you're planning on making this on the campfire (the traditional way, just like my dad makes it), follow the same steps, making it in a "fire safe" pot!


The traditional black pot:


Comments


bottom of page